#### ORIGINAL MUSIC FROM THE NETFLIX DOCUMENTARY SERIES



# by BROCKER WAY

## ABOUT THIS RECORD

Working closely with his brothers and a skilled technical team including mix engineers Joey Waronker (Atoms for Peace, David Byrne, Beck, R.E.M.) and Tom Biller (Kanye West, Jon Brion, Kate Nash), and percussionist Neal Morgan (Joanna Newsom, Bill Callahan), Brocker Way's original score for the Netflix docuseries Wild Wild Country is meant to reflect the outlook of each of the show's interviewees rather than simply emphasizing their outward idiosyncrasies. Such an approach invites the listener to inhabit the myriad personalities and situations in the show from a virtual first-person perspective, sculpting a deeply empathic auditory experience capable of standing on its own as an album. In Way's words "This kind of music gives us an idea as to the motives of each talking head, without actually scoring the motives of the character, and hopefully entices us as the audience to take the journey with them. When the Rajneeshees are building their town, you get to feel that and be right there with them. When Dave Fronmeyer is building his case, you get to feel the nobility he saw in his cause, and we hope to put you right in the room with him when he's doing it. When a city inspector has to go onto the ranch you can feel the fear as you sit in the car with him. That's the goal anyway."

#### ADDITIONAL INFO

• Limited edition maroon vinyl with an orange stripe in the middle.

• *Wild Wild Country* by Brocker Way features 15 tracks from the critically acclaimed Netflix documentary series.

• Way scored the film *The Battered Bastards of Baseball* (2014) staring Kurt Russell, and *#TAKEMEANYWHERE* (2018) starring and directed by Shia LaBeouf.

• The Wild Wild Country score was mixed by Joey Waronker (member of Atoms for Peace, and session drummer for David Byrne, Beck, R.E.M., Elliott Smith, et al), and Tom Biller (known for mixing Kanye West, Jon Brion, Elliott Smith, et al).

• R.I.Y.L: Jóhann Jóhannsson, Peter Broderick, Max Richter, Nils Frahm, Balmorhea, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Goldmund, Ólafur Arnalds

LP-C1 843563103494

- Hometown: Los Angeles
- Key Markets: L.os Angeles., Brooklyn, NYC, Chicago, Austin, Boston, Seattle, Portland, San Francisco



Release Date SEPTEMBER 21, 2018

Catalog Number WV179



Genre NEO-CLASSICAL



Packaging LP JACKET / 4-PANEL CD WALLET Export Restrictions NONE



#### TRACK LIST

- 1. The Guillotine
- 2. Fashionable Leather Shoes
- 3. Come Home
- 4. Life for Myself
- 5. Those of Us Who Were There
- 6. The New Man
- 7. High Desert
- 8. Be Grateful for This Beautiful Home
- 9. Church and State
- 10. An Adventure of My Life
- 11. Spies in Overalls
- 12. The Takeover
- 13. Chosen People
- 14. It was a Town
- 15. The Burning Ghats

## PRESS QUOTES

"One of Netflix's biggest success stories this year..."

#### - Variety

"To describe Wild Wild Country as jaw-dropping is to understate the number of times my mouth gaped while watching the series..."

- The Atlantic

Box Lots LP 50 / CD 40

Return Policy VINYL IS NON-RETURNABLE



WESTERN VINYL AUSTIN•TEXAS WESTERNVINYL.COM G

EXCLUSIVELY DISTRIBUTED BY SECRETLY DISTRIBUTION P:812.335.1572 US DOMESTIC SALES CONTACT: DOMESTIC@SECRETLYDISTRIBUTION.COM INTERNATIONAL SALES CONTACT: INTERNATIONAL@SECRETLYDISTRIBUTION.COM