GLASS GHOST

LYFE

WV120 • LP / CD / MP3 RELEASE DATE: SEPTEMBER 16, 2014

ABOUT THIS RECORD

Since the release of their debut album Idol Omen in 2009, Glass Ghost's founding members Eliot Krimsky and Michael Johnson have kept busy. In addition to playing dozens of shows, including a tour with White Rabbits, Johnson joined Dirty Projectors as their new drummer, Krimsky has been collaborating with Here We Go Magic on keys, and the duo welcomed two new members to the group, Tyler Wood on keyboards and percussion, and Aerial East on vocals. Like their debut, LYFE was produced by Tyler Wood, who also produced Joan As Policewoman's 2014 album The Classic. For the LYFE recording sessions, the group recruited many of their friends to contribute, including Joan Wasser of Joan As Policewoman, Nat Baldwin of Dirty Projectors, and Christopher Tignor of Slow Six and Wires Under Tension. Pushing their songs to new levels by working with Brooklyn's musical elite is nothing new for Glass Ghost. They worked with more than a dozen of their friends from Brooklyn's music community, including Sharon Van Etten (who in 2011 noted "Eliot Krimsky is one of my favorite writers."), Here We Go Magic's Luke Temple, and Matt Iwanusa of Caveman, for their debut which was described by the New Yorker as "elegant compositions of frosted indie pop," and by Time Out New York as "weird and mournful yet highly rhythmic."

On their new album LYFE, Krimsky (who's currently working on his M.A. in Media Studies at The New School, where he's exploring the convergence of technological mediation, identity and music) turns his observations of the absurd and mundane into metaphors about living in a world where every detail about your life is harvested, quantified, and used by marketing companies to manipulate your behavior. Rather than sounding didactic or overly intellectual, the songs provide windows into the band's internal world, as Krimsky's tender falsetto glides over the icy landscapes of synths, strings, woodwinds, and regal horns. As the product of Krimsky, Johnson, and Wood's mutual trust, vision, and relentless attention to every detail, LYFE masterfully blends airy, melancholy, and chilly atmospherics with Glass Ghost's irresistible bottomheavy grooves and hooky pop sensibilities.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

- Glass Ghost founding member Michael Johnson is the drummer for Dirty Projectors, and founding member Eliot Krimsky has been recording and performing with Here We Go Magic.
- LYFE also features Joan Wasser a.k.a. Joan As Policewoman, Nat Baldwin of Dirty Proejctors, and Christopher Tignor of Slow Six and Wires Under Tension.
- Glass Ghost's previous album Idol Omen featured Sharon Van Etten, and the two artists collaborated to record a version of the single "Like a Diamond" with Van Etten on vocals.
- The band will perform several shows in the Northeast in support of LYFE.



TRACK LIST

3:56
4:40
4:53
4:31
4:20
4:53
4:06
3:49
2:18
3:38
0:35

PRESS QUOTES

"Weird and mournful yet highly rhythmic, Brooklyn's Glass Ghost offers dance-friendly art pop."

TIME OUT NEW YORK

"...that irresistible, disjointed mix of pop hooks and Beefheartian abandon."

VILLAGE VOICE

"...an affecting, gently aspirated bedtime piece...In tune and percussion it struck me as the nocturnal cousin to Merriweather Post Pavilion's "Guys Eyes."

STEREOGUM

"...a fractured bit of art-pop featuring...intoned falsetto over some spare production and airy beats."

PITCHFORK

LP UPC 656605465814

CD UPC **656605465821**





Release Date SEPTEMBER 16, 2014

LP / CD

Packaging

LP JACKET / JEWELCASE

Box Lots **LP 30 / CD 30**

Catalog Number **WV120**

Genre POP / INDIE-ROCK

Export Restrictions

VINYL IS NON-RETURNABLE



