Dots Will Echo Drunk is the New Sober / Stupid is the New Dumb



STREET DATE: August 21, 2012 GENRE: Rock FORMAT: CD / LP / Digital CD BOX LOT: 50 CD PACKAGING: Wallet LP BOX LOT: 20 LP PACKAGING: Double gatefold RETURNABLE: CD Only CD: 656605609621



LP: 656605609614



"Drunk Is The New Sober" and "Stupid Is The New Dumb" are the twin subtitles of Drunk & Stupid, Dots Will Echo's debut album on Asthmatic Kitty, but those aren't just arch witticisms, they encapsulate the apparent contradictions that power the New Jersey duo's music. The warmly weird world created by multi-instrumentalist Nick Berry and drummer Kurt Biroc seems simultaneously sacred and profane, edgy and accessible, sad and transcendentally silly. What else would you expect from a group that describes itself as "dour moralizers and drunken assholes" and identifies its key influences as "A little bit The Incredible String Band, a little bit AC/DC?"

Originally meant to be two separate discs (the vinyl version is a double LP with download codes for bonus tracks), Drunk & Stupid boasts 19 songs overflowing with insanely catchy melodies, endearingly off-kilter arrangements, and a strangely satisfying blend of the divine and the absurd." As Berry says, "We try to allow for the will of the universe to have a large part in our music. There must be something sacred in mistakes. This is our explanation for being fuck-ups."

SELLING POINTS

* Press campaign by Terrorbird

* Dots Will Echo Nick Berry contributed to Will Ackerman's Grammy-nominated 2001 album, Hearing Voices.

* Cult favorite of Ridgewood, New Jersey.

KEY MARKETS

Austin, Boston, Dallas, Chicago, San Francisco, Portland, New York, Los Angeles, Indianapolis, New Jersey

TRACK LISTING

- CD
- 1. Untitled I 00:04
- 2. I Like It 03:15
- 3. Untitled II 00:23
- 4. I'm a Monkey 02:22
- 5. Shitstorm 04:02
- 6. Be a Friend 03:02
- 7. Whatcha Tryin to Do 03:52
- 8. Rocket Girls 02:54
- 9. Caroline 03:48
- 10. Run Away Anna 04:14
- 11. History's Grave 05:11
- 12. Sweet Sweet Sanity 06:04
- 13. Anime 05:03
- 14. Who Left You Here 03:27
- 15. The Future 03:01
- 16. Untitled III 00:10
- 17. Peace in Your Life 04:46
- 18. Our Little Part of the World 03:29
- 19. Untitled IV 00:10
- 20. Gates of Eden 03:44
- 21. Visions of Light 05:35
- 22. Seven Deadly Sins 03:43
- 23. So Deep the Night 07:18

- LP SIDE A
- 1. I Like It 03:15 2. I'm a Monkey 02:22 3. Shitstorm 04:02
- 4. Be a Friend 03:02
- 5. Whatcha Tryin to Do 03:52
- 6. Rocket Girls 02:54
- SIDE B
- 7. Anime 05:03
 8. Who Left You Here 03:27
 9. Caroline 03:48
 10. Run Away Anna 04:14
 11. History's Grave 05:11

SIDE C

12. The Future 03:01
 13. Peace in Your Life 04:46
 14. Our Little Part of the World 03:29
 15. Sweet Sweet Sanity 06:04

SIDE D

- 16. Gates of Eden 03:44
- 17. Visions of Light 05:35
- 18. Seven Deadly Sins 03:43
- 19. So Deep the Night 07:18



