Secretly Distributon


Release Date

Supercluster: Waves

SUPERCLUSTER is an Athens super-group featuring members of PYLON, THE OLIVIA TREMOR CONTROL, CIRCULATORY SYSTEM, DEERHUNTER, CASPER & THE COOKIES, THE NEW SOUND OF NUMBERS / SOUND HOUSES, INSTRUMENTS, BOB HAY & THE JOLLY BEGGARS, and THE SQUALLS. It has been described as “Appalachian Wave” because of the combination of an eclectic mix of elements - three female vocalists, upbeat rhythms, violin, cello, mandolin, clarinets, acoustic guitar, keyboard, and angular electric guitar. Bringing together many generations of Athens music, they have been developing their sound over the last couple of years through consistent practicing and live shows. They are going to be doing more shows in support of the album including a show opening up for the B-52s. This is also one of the last documents of the guitar skills of Randy Bewley (PYLON), who passed away earlier this year. Bradford Cox of DEERHUNTER, a longtime fan of PYLON, stepped in to help SUPERCLUSTER in the studio after Randy passed away. Heather McIntosh of INSTRUMENTS / GNARLS BARKLEY / LIL’ WAYNE also appears on the record and is playing live with the group now as well.