January 20th New Releases

by admin at 9:46 pm

Tycho – Epoch (Ghostly International)
Grammy Nominated for Best Electronic Album
Watch the videos for “Glider” and “Horizon” below:

Foxygen – Hang (Jagjaguwar)
Listen to “America” below

Cherry Glazerr – Apocalipstick (Secretly Canadian)
“Told You I’d Be With The Guys” gets Best New Track at Pitchfork
Listen to “Nurse Ratched” below:

Joan of Arc – He’s Got The Whole This Land Is Your Land In His Hands (Joyful Noise Recordings)
Watch the video for “This Must Be The Placenta” below:

Michael Chapman – 50 (Paradise of Bachelors)
Read Stereogum’s review here
Listen to “Sometimes You Just Drive” below:

Uniform – Wake in Fright (Sacred Bones Records)
Listen to “The Killing of America” below:

The Stray Trolleys – Barricades and Angels (Captured Tracks)
Listen to “A Bluebeat Kid” below:

Avec Le Soleil Sortant De Sa Bouche – Pas Pire Pop, I Love You So Much (Constellation)
Listen to “Alizé et Margaret D. Midi moins le quart. Sur la plage, un palmier ensanglanté II” below

Awa Poulo – Poulo Warali (Awesome Tapes From Africa)
Poulo’s first internationally distributed record
Listen to “Djulau” below:

Tim Cohen – Luck Man (Sinderlyn)
Listen to “Meat Is Murder” and “John Hughes” below:

William Basinski – A Shadow In Time (Temporary Residence Ltd)
Subtle, celestial escalation of melody and drone

MONO – Under The Pipal Tree (Temporary Residence Ltd)
The expert combination of metal and classical

Various Artists – Wayfaring Strangers: Ladies From the Canyon (Numero Group)
Majorly influenced by Joni Mitchell, these wayfaring female strangers come together to bring back the raw folk found in the canyons of California

Botany – Dimming Awe, The Light is Raw (Western Vinyl)
Listen to the album’s first track below:

Chastity – Peroxide (Captured Tracks)
Watch the video for the album’s title track below:


December 2nd New Releases

by admin at 8:56 pm

DAMIEN JURADO & RICHARD SWIFT Other People’s Songs Vol. 1

Review by Pop Matters


A Closer Look At Soviet Soviet’s New Album

JOSEPH WASHINGTON JR. Merry Christmas To You

Take a Listen


Exclaim Gives Insight on the New Soundtrack “Almost Holy”

TELEFON TEL AVIV Fahrenheit Fair Enough

Sputnik Music Claims Telefon Tel Aviv is at Their Creative High


Pitchforks Review of “Genet’s Rose”


Check Out the Box Set on Pitchfork


Inside Look By Stereogum

SLEIGH BELLS Jessica Rabbit

Incredible in-depth interview with the band via DIY

BEDHEAD 1992-1996

NPR’s Article on Bedhead 1992-1998


November 11th New Releases

by admin at 8:35 pm

Sleigh Bells – Jessica Rabbit (Sinderlyn)
“I Can Only Stare” song premiere via Pitchfork
Watch the music videos for “I Can Only Stare” and “It’s Just Us Now” below:

David Bazan – Dark Sacred Night (Suicide Squeeze Records) accompanied by the 12-inch single Christmas Bonus also on Suicide Squeeze Records
Song premiere for David Bazan’s cover of the Low track “Long Way Around The Sea” via Stereogum
Watch the trailer for the Christmas song compilation from David Bazan (Pedro The Lion) below:

From the Secretly Canadian Yoko Ono reissue series:
Yoko Ono – Plastic Ono Band (Secretly Canadian)
John Lennon & Yoko Ono – Unfinished Music No. 1: Two Virgins (Secretly Canadian)
John Lennon & Yoko Ono – Unfinished Music No. 2: Life With The Lions (Secretly Canadian)

Watch the trailer for the Yoko Ono reissue project below:

The Men – Devil Music (Sacred Bones Records)
“Lion’s Den” song premiere and interview about the forthcoming album via Noisey

V/A – Killed By Deathrock Volume II (Sacred Bones Records)
Stream of “The Freedom Curse” by Flowers For Agatha from the next installment in the Killed By Deathrock compilation series

Wolf People – Ruins (Jagjaguwar)
Watch the music video for the new single “Ninth Night” below:

Lou Barlow – Apocalypse Fetish (Joyful Noise Recordings)
“The Breeze” song premiere via Consequence of Sound
Review of Apocalypse Fetish via Soundblab

V/A – Shanghai’d Soul: Episode 4 (Numero Group)
Learn the history behind some of hip hop’s most iconic beats, compiled in this double-LP collection from Numero Group

Kllo – Well Worn (Ghostly International)
Review of Well Worn’s vinyl release in August via Pitchfork

Recondite – Corvus (Ghostly International)
“Capable” single premiere via Mixmag

Luke Temple – A Hand Through the Cellar Door (Secretly Canadian)
“Birds of Late December” song premiere via Consequence of Sound

Exploded View – Exploded View (Sacred Bones Records)
Watch the music video for “Orlando” from the vinyl reissue of the band’s debut album below:

Uniform – Ghosthouse (Sacred Bones Records)
Review of the eponymous track via Pitchfork

The Features – X-Features (Flying Nun)
The quintessential New Zealand punk band’s discography, reissued on vinyl for the first time since 1980

Spiked Punch – Guinea Pig (DFA Records)
Spiked Punch is a fresh improvisational project from Black Dice’s Eric Copeland and Aaron Warren, releasing a few avant-garde tunes with plunderphonic origins on a new 7-inch for DFA Records

Frankie Cosmos – Next Thing (Bayonet)
Read the stellar review of the LP’s initial release via Pitchfork and get excited for this vinyl reissue on beautiful orange wax